Writing the Self 1: (Home is where the chaos is)

We call ourselves the three musketeers, it seems fitting as my mom, and my sister and myself journey through much of our lives as just us three. We are like the Jill’s of all trades. From minor car repair to household item repair, yard maintenance and trapping unwanted rodents, we can do anything; except be organized.

My sister has never had any regard for time; “Leslie, its ten to eight and we have to be there at 8,” to which she replies, “then I still have at least 7 minutes.” I have always preferred the idea that early means on time. Sayings like those of, “hurry up”, and “seriously you’re changing again” are often muttered in our home. Apart from the disregard of any timeline from my sister, I am always waiting on my mom to be picked up from a piano lesson, friend’s house or school. I get hopeful thinking, ok, today I will not be the last one sitting on a swing outside of school waiting for my mom to drive up in our little grey speedy hatchback. The sound of each kernel popping and the smell rising in the air was a clear indicator that tonight for supper popcorn would be the entrée. As a single working parent, exhausted from overtime hours, my mom felt bad about serving popcorn as a meal but I always felt like I was the luckiest kid there was.

I’m sitting on the couch in our little cabin style home in Lumsden waiting yet again for my sister. The rodeo is in Regina and I am excited and anxious to get there, it is after all a thirty-minute drive. Leslie, hustling as always heads out to the car, and finally I think, good we can go. No sooner does she leave then come running back in because she forgot something and slips on the rug behind the couch sending her up in the air and flat on her back. I of course burst into laughter and remind her that we are running late (according to my time of course). We are in the car ready to pull out of the driveway, the rain is coming down and I am ready for some entertainment. I hear the words, “I forgot my wallet” come from my sister and by this time I’m getting annoyed. She swings open the car door, tells me to get a grip and heads towards the house only to slip in a huge mound of mud, completely ruin her outfit and give me one more reason to laugh. Home is where the chaos is.

 

2 thoughts on “Writing the Self 1: (Home is where the chaos is)

  1. What an awesome post! My family is quite large and I can totally relate to the chaos that you refer to. Being “on time” seemed to never be a priority when we went places all together. I call it a beautiful chaos and that reality formed me to become a flexible and understanding adult.

    Like

  2. I wrote that first comment very late at night and I just realized how short it was!
    Here are a couple more thoughts. 🙂
    I think it is an incredible thing to have unity within the family no matter the circumstances. Your family shows that very clearly. The ups and down that your mom must have felt as a single mother, raising daughters, trying her best to provide for you and to keep a family structure. I applaud her efforts and success. The popcorn nights you mentioned painted such a cool picture of your family dynamic. My sister is a single mom and I have heard it all. There are times when you just need to do what you can. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment