Week 8

The use of technology and how it can assist some learners with understanding, the safety the learners feel in their classroom environments, the community that surrounds the students including the community of their peers, the way in which we honour diversity, etc. there are SO many factors to consider. I will admit at times I felt a little overwhelmed thinking about how I want my classroom to run and the expectations I have of my learners and where to begin with all of it.

I admired her and respected my teacher when I was a student, I appreciate her far more now, having had a chance to see the amount of work she puts in to her career as a teacher and the unconditional love she has for each one of her learners, but most of all, her unwavering expectations that her students are first and foremost decent human beings.

I can undoubtedly see that I have much work ahead of me to prepare me for my own classroom. I want all my learners to know they each are important to me and I care about their success. Three professional goals I have are to attend as many extra courses, and conventions that I can, to never stop learning for myself. Secondly I would like to create a code of conduct for my learners for my classroom, whether it be the four I discussed in my earlier posts or that I create some of my own as I learn more about what I expect as a teacher from my learners. Third and lastly I want to practice more patience. Life is hard for our learners these days, relationships are not as easy as they once were, technology presents some challenges and homes that aren’t healthy interfere as well. I want my students to know that even on their “bad” days that I still expect respect and good behavior but that I also can meet them where they are at that day, and that I am rooting for their success.

 

 

Leave a comment