Cooperative Learning – Group Work

Theory: cooperative learning – Group Work

Video

During my pre-internship at Robert Southey School, I had the opportunity to both observe as well as assign group work. As I was teaching in multiple grades as well as diverse learning abilities, I quickly understood some of the challenges that accompany group work in the classroom. In my grade nine class, some of the frustrations I (as well as the students, I imagine) were faced with was the partnering or grouping of students who had a history of bullying, whether it be verbal or digital, there was definitely tension and refusal to work as a team. In my grade four and five classes, the issues around group work were not as much about behaviours as much as it was about the inability to focus, collaborate and distribute quality work, because they were not utilizing their time accordingly.
Another form of collaboration I encountered was the task of working with my cooperating teachers to ensure the students would not fall behind, or be at a disadvantage having a new teacher interrupt their achievements so close to the end of the year. I received a great deal of support from not only my cooperating teachers, but all teachers and supporting teachers in the school, as well as administration. I now understand the importance and necessity of creating community in a school and the strength it allows all members of the community to experience.
Cooperative learning can be a valuable tool to have in your teacher tool kit, but I think what I have learned from this experience in the field is to ask myself if the group work is going to enhance the learning and make it stronger, or if it is causing more management issues in the classroom, taking away from the little time teachers have to deliver the lesson. There is a time for cooperative learning and when it is implemented carefully it has a great deal of power to enhance not only learning information but being able to understand it and use it over and over again in the many different experiences our learners will encounter.
In life, cooperation and collaboration is an important skill to possess. Knowing how to put differences aside and work together for the betterment of a community will strengthen the final result, whatever that may be. Very rarely do we, in adulthood, get to choose who we work with, and it is very likely we will not like everyone we work with, and that’s ok. What is important to remember and be able to accomplish is showing each person in the community, respect.
I have added a video with some of my experiences and thoughts on group work. As teachers, no matter how much or little experience we have, it is imperative we all work together for the success of our learners, and I believe we all have valuable experiences and information to offer one another.

 

Leave a comment